Andy Warhol, Truman Capote, Sylvia Plath, Stephen King, Richard Linklater, Zac Posen, and Lena Dunham. These are just a few of the past recipients of the renowned Scholastic Art & Writing Awards — and this year, your name could be among the winners. Here's how to enter.

The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards
Since their founding in 1923, the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards "have recognized the vision, ingenuity, and talent of our nation's youth, and provided opportunities for creative teens to be celebrated." Hosted by the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers, the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards are a chance for teenagers to showcase their creative work on a grand scale.

Who Can Enter:
The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards are open to all students in grades 7 – 12, from private, public, or home schools. Students can submit work in 29 different categories, ranging from photography, critical essays, journalism, architecture, poetry, flash fiction, painting, novel writing, video game design, and more.

Introducing the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers
The Alliance for Young Artists & Writers is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that identifies teenagers with exceptional artistic and literary talent and brings their remarkable work to a national audience through The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards. The Awards have an impressive legacy dating back to 1923 and a noteworthy roster of past winners, including Andy Warhol, Sylvia Plath, Truman Capote, Richard Avedon, Robert Redford, and Joyce Carol Oates.

How to Apply:
To submit work for consideration, students should first familiarize themselves with the guidelines for each category and the project deadlines, determined by region. To view the work of past National Award-winning art & writing works, check out the online galleries.

Best of luck to all who enter!